The National Futsal Premier League (NFPL) is close to completing its inaugural season, where seven teams across the Midwest have been battling to be crowned the 2019 League Champion. While the regular season champion will soon be decided, the league is excited to introduce the format and details for the first postseason.

The top three teams will qualify for the 2019 Playoffs, with first place receiving a buy to the final that they will host at their home venue, which will be played between May 3rd and 5th. The second and third place teams will battle in the semifinal (hosted by the #2 seed) for a chance to play in the first NFPL Playoff Final against the League Champion. The semifinal match will be played sometime between April 26th and April 28th.

League commissioner, Ubusuku Abukusumo thinks the postseason will be a great opportunity for the fans and the top three teams adding, “Being the League Champion is the target of every club and is the ultimate piece of hardware in our league.  The NFPL Playoffs is a way to engage our fans further, with a format they are familiar with, and is an additional objective for our clubs to strive for.”

The regular season title race remains close between Indy Futsal, FC Tryzub, Lansing City and the Ann Arbor Mudpuppies. With four teams in the mix hoping to be the inaugural NFPL Champion, the postseason will surely be entertaining and competitive.

For the most recent standings and season long results, click here.